#8 Productivity and Parkinsons law

Once upon a time I was so into productivity. Get as productive as possible. Because if you are productive you get more things done in less time. That was what I thought. If you do things faster you get time to relax. But some stuff never gets done so sometimes it’s good to put a time limit on it. Especially, things that are not important. Parkinson’s law states that the more time you have to do something the longer time it will take to finish it.

Have you ever heard of it?  I’m not really sure when I came across it but I had it in my notes and that reminded me of it. It’s quite interesting actually. The main point in it is ”work expands so as to fill the time available for it completion”

So use deadlines effectively, for example case reports in school. I got a month to do it but to get it done faster and more effective I break it down to smaller activities, read that article, write that part of the report, write a draft etc. And then I put a deadline on it. So I have to do it. Then it gets done in time and I have time to review if I need to.

If you want to read more about parkinsons law, check out these articles.

http://www.lifehack.org/articles/productivity/how-to-use-parkinsons-law-to-your-advantage.html

http://impossiblehq.com/parkinsons-law

Kommentera

