New dream

After leaving Siem Reap I had one of those moments. You know, when I start to question everything. What’s important in life? What am I doing with my life? Who am I? Am I happy? What should I do? I didn’t come up with good answers as usual. But I think I came up with a new dream. I would like to give money to individuals. With no strings attached. The only thing they have to do is to write, a short essay about how it will make their life better or what they gonna do with the money or if they could do anything in the world what would they do.

It’s just starts forming in my mind. I wished I could have done more in Cambodia. I remember that one of the other volunteers told me that it was hard to get a good job if you don’t have money or contacts. There are so many talented kids in Cambodia, probably like anywhere else as well. I think, they study hard, work hard and in the end they ends up as a waiter or cleaner or some other low wages job because they were born in Cambodia. How can I change that? I don’t know. Hopefully the conditions get better when the kids grow up. There is probably the same problem in a lot of countries. But it’s more personal there.

Anyway the reason I brought that up was because I maybe can’t help a whole nation, but what about individual persons? Not long ago I read an article: https://decorrespondent.nl/541/why-we-should-give-free-money-to-everyone/20798745-cb9fbb39 and I think it affected me. It talks about studies where individuals were given money. For example in one study, thirteen homeless people were given 3,000 pounds each. A year later eleven of them had accommodation and were doing something with their life. I know that it is a small study, the article mentioned other studies. The thing is 3,000 pounds isn’t that much but the returns are so much more. I will talk about some obstacles in another post.

That was inspiration to my new dream though. I want to help people, help them to succeed. I thought one way is to be successful myself. It’s better to show people than to tell them what to do. That’s how I want to live my life and that is why I always want to improve. Especially for my kids, I’m not gonna be perfect. It’s not about that, it’s about living life and in the end be proud and happy over your own life.

As I said, I’m still thinking about how to go about it. I have another alternative as well. Help them to achieve their dream. A quote that have inspired this is “I hope everybody could get rich and famous and will have everything they ever dreamed of, so they will know that it’s not the answer.” Jim Carrey

En reaktion på ”New dream

Kommentera

