A few things I’ve learnt during my travels

The more I learn, the more I learn how little I know. — Socrates 
The more you know, the less you understand. — Lao-Tse 

It’s seems like a lot of people write about what they have learnt during their travels. I want to do the same. I’ve been thinking hard. I realized I have learnt a lot. And would I write everything down here It would take ages. So I choose four lessons that I think will let you reflect a little bit.

One last thing before I begin. I wrote these things with the quotes of Socrates and Lao Tse in mind.

Knowing something doesn’t mean you can do it

Because I know what to do, how to do it and when to do it doesn’t mean that I can do it. For example, I have read about private finance. The basic is spending less than you earn. I don’t always do that, well I’m not sure. Another basic principle, write it down. I don’t do that either. That’s why I couldn’t answer the first question truthfully. But I think I do it. It is so simple things, but I don’t do it anyway. And I don’t think it’s only me.

God have its place

I call it god, even though I don’t believe in god. But by believing in something outside of myself gives me comfort and makes me happier. That makes me believe that everything happens for a reason, which makes me more likely to accept events I cannot control. It makes me more grateful, because I can thank something/someone when something good happens and I have something/someone to pray to when I feel lonely or need strength. I’m not saying that you should believe just that it can be comfortable to believe sometimes.

Nietzsche was wrong

“What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.” The famous quote from Nietzsche. I believe him for a long time. But I think it depends on if you how you respond. I think it can break you as well. I’ve met people that have gotten stronger from events and also people that have been so afraid that I thinks that affecting their decision making.

Poor people aren’t necessarily happier than wealthy people.

I read in a lot of places that poor people seems happier than wealthy people. It’s not necessarily true. I’ve met wealthy people that are happy and I’ve met poor people that are happy, I have also met wealthy that are unhappy and I have met poor people that are unhappy.

Merry Christmas!!

Kommentera

