Into the wild

As I mentioned in my last post I have a lot to write and I didn’t know where to begin. I still don’t know but I just write to see what comes up.

I arrived in Griffith yesterday night and got o my accommodation, luckily I met two of my roommates and the let me in. Talked a little bit with them and it seems like I’m lucky. There are work here and the manager seems so be an honorable man aswell. Heard and read horror stories about this kind of things so I’m a little cautious.

As always pretty much I try to find the library in the city for free wifi because the hostel isn’t providing any, but neither do the library so I ends up paying for it. I’ll see what I will do. Anyway here I am sitting in the library when I see a book which reminded me of a movie “Into the wild”. Based on a true story. A coincidence? I picked it up and start reading it. Been reading about 70 pages.

There is something about that guy that appeals to me. Leaving and selling everything he owns pretty much and just hitchhike around in U.S  doing what he wants. Take a job when he feels like it. Leaving a job when he feels like it. I think that kind of living appeals to people, at least a little bit. Because how else did this story become so popular that they made a book and a movie about him.

A part in the book reminded me of another thing. It says “God has placed it all around us. It is in everything and anything we might experience. We just have to have the courage to turn against our habitual lifestyle and engage in unconventional living”. In a long walk with a friend he mentions something similar. “We are just visitors in this world. And we are just here to experience.”

It felt so right when I heard and read it. But I think I don’t interpret it that as they do. I think they mean that we should travel see new places meet new people and don’t live a life of habit where you do the same thing every day. That is right and I believe that it’s one way to do that. And it’s easier to pay attention when you are changing your environment all the time. But I also believe that it possible even if you do the same thing every day. Because every day are different, new maybe just in subtle ways but they are. When we do the same thing every day, we stop paying attention. Habits numbs us.

I don’t know how I can explain it. But it makes sense for me.

4 reaktioner på ”Into the wild

  1. Var det den filmen vi såg tillsammans? Där han typ bor i det vilda och jagar för att hitta mat och sen äter han någon jävla växt och blir jättesjuk? Saknar dig Toni, och saknar våra filmkvällar streamandes från datorn. 🙂 puss ❤

Kommentera

